Information Technology A to Z Index

Unscheduled Outages

Monday, August 7, 2017

Outage 60-80 minutes this morning because of an upgrade Sunday night.  Load balancer issues that affected: email, Blackboard, Banner and the web.

Friday, July 21, 2017

Three issues:

1. EKU_SECURE Wi-Fi issues early morning hours.  Resolved by 7:15 a.m.

2. Lync error 'Can't Sign in to Skype for Business'  Restart fixed.

3. Outlook down from 11-11:20 a.m.

Friday, June 30, 2017

DNS server update issues--affecting Blackboard and websites.

Thursday, June 29, 2017

BTC having issues with network and phones--switch had been unplugged.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Skype for Business had outage.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Load balancer change at 4:15 p.m..  20-30 minute downtime. 

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Outlook and Banner were down.

Monday, June 19, 2017

Power issues in NSB which affected the network connectivity.

Sunday, May 21, 2017

DNS issues affecting email and web and Blackboard.

Friday, May 12, 2017

DNS down briefly that morning after an updated was applied and turned out to be bad

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Outlook down

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

DegreeWorks and EKU homepage were down

Monday, March 20, 2017

Blackboard experiencing issues with chat

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Wi-Fi outage.  Had to reboot APs

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Wi-Fi issues

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

myMail issue-App launcher tiles do not show tiles for services outside of Exchange Online.  Microsoft is aware and is working on the issue.

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Because of severe storms in central Kentucky, there were periodic power interruptions around campus and at Meadowbrook Farm this morning.  Power interruptions affected switches and wireless access points.  Most fixes were simple reboots and service disruption was minor and sporadic. Outages occurred from 9-10 a.m.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

An outage at Amazon Web Services shut down the "Crocodoc" grading system (used by instructors) from 1-4 p.m.  The same problem also affected VoiceThread submissions until evening.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Outlook and Lync down again from 2:45 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Outlook and Lync down from 12:45 p.m. - 1:32 p.m.

Lync was down from 6:11 a.m. - 7:17 a.m. - Front-end server "stuck" and unresponsive.  

Monday, January 9, 2017

Blackboard was down this morning but back up by 7:30 a.m.

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Outlook was down between 9:35 - 10:40 a.m.

Friday, December 9, 2016

Power outage in Walters affecting Internet

Network issues in Public Safety 

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Blackboard down - 9:55 p.m. - 10:07 p.m. - One server was experiencing issues that was causing a terrible lag accessing the site, logging in, and using site.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

EKU Direct down - 2:15 p.m. -2:27 p.m.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Keene Hall networking issues (10th-13th floors) from 1:50 p.m. - 2:57 p.m.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

EKU Direct experienced sporadic issues today between 5-5:10 p.m.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

EKU websites were down from 7 a.m.-8:04 a.m.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Pharos down campus-wide from 10 a.m. - 11:33 a.m. 

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

EKU Direct was down from 7:10-7:20 p.m.

Monday, November 14, 2016

EKU Direct was down from 1-1:15 p.m.

Outlook was down from 11:25 a.m.-12:05 p.m.

Friday, November 11, 2016

Degree Works was unavailable between 8:00 - 9:30 a.m.  Also, EKU Direct and Degree Works and Banner were unavailable 3:00 - 3:25 p.m.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Outlook was down between 11:20 - 11:40 a.m.

Monday, November 7, 2016

This morning around 9:45 a.m. we began experiencing issues with:

  • Slow Remove Desktop experiences
  • Email down (Outlook) - OWA or phone on mobile devices appears to work
  • Lync
  • Active Directory

Issues appear to be in routers.

Issues resolved at around 5 p.m..  Rebooting computers or flushing DNS settings may be necessary on users end.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Approximately 3:10 - 4:30 p.m., EKU Direct and Banner were unavailable.

Saturday, July 2, 2016

myMail was down Saturday morning.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Approximately 1:15 - 1:30 p.m., the EKU home page and other EKU web pages were unavailable.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Approximately 12:45 - 1:30 p.m., Outlook email clients were having trouble connecting to the email server.  The Outlook Web App, https://owa.eku.edu, still worked properly.  Faculty and staff still having trouble opening Outlook should reboot their computers.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Long distance outage, issue with Windstream connection  Reseating fixed.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

The myMail host was "almost down" in that Windows was still up so we didn't get any alerts that the server was down.  We're adding an alert on page load issues.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

From approximately 7:40 - 8:10 p.m. services were lost to the following services due to a Windows update applied to two of our three main DNS servers:

  • EKU web sites
  • Wireless (clients couldn't't authenticate)
  • OWA/Email
  • VPN users couldn't authenticate 

Monday, April 18, 2016

Blackboard was down approximately 11:45 a.m. until 12:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Various issues:

  1. Some users are experiencing issues with Outlook--slowness and text issues.  Escalated to Windstream.
  2. Some users are having trouble with long distance calling.  

Monday, March 21, 2016

Library network issues (logging into PCs, printing, Lync phones) from Sunday overnight until around 12 noon on Monday.  Older network switches replaced.

Wednesday , March 9, 2016

From 11:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m., EKU experienced an unplanned email outage only affecting Outlook email clients on Windows.

An issue with one of EKU's redundant load balancers triggered a failover condition.  Although the failover kept most services running (Banner, Blackboard, Outlook Web Access, etc.), the services required for the Outlook email client could not function properly.

IT is adding additional monitoring to minimize the impact of any future interruptions.

Wednesday , March 2, 2016

From 5:45 p.m until 7:30 p.m., several critical services were offline due to a storage problem. Affected services included the following:

  • Blackboard
  • EKU web pages
  • Email services

The issue is resolved for the evening, and IT will be working to move things around to make more space available.

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Outlook and OWA email were down approximately 10:30 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.  If Outlook still fails to connect, you may need to log out and log back in to your computer.

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Hiccup in Internet service for about 5 minutes around 10:30 a.m. on main campus.

Update 2/12/15: Firewall in Perkins and Coates lost communication.  This is normal and usually lasts 2-3 seconds.  Networking is still looking at why this was more of a 5-10 minute event.

Friday, January 29, 2016

The outage was a result of a configuration issue with the firewall when changes necessitated by the PCI audit were made. It took several Cisco engineers to help resolve the issue.

Please note that once full SIP services are procured, it will be possible to transfer phone calls to a non-Lync phone (cell phones for example) should we lose all services. Systems is currently in the process of procuring a SIP vendor. Hopefully, those services will be fully onboard by spring break.

Inside Look

banner 9
Banner 9 Upgrade
EKU IT is excited to announce the latest upgrade to our ERP system--Banner 9!  
Subscribe to Inside Look